Linxys Mini EV: which version to buy (and why there is only one)

If the question is which Linxys Mini EV to buy, the catalogue answers with one measured specification set, not a range. Across 1 generation in production from 2022-05-01 with no end date in the data, there is 1 version: 20 hp. That version is a Cabrio, Electro, Automatic with 1 speed, FWD. Peak output is 20 hp (14 kW) and 85 Nm.

If the question is which Linxys Mini EV to buy, the catalogue answers with one measured specification set, not a range. Across 1 generation in production from 2022-05-01 with no end date in the data, there is 1 version: 20 hp. That version is a Cabrio, Electro, Automatic with 1 speed, FWD. Peak output is 20 hp (14 kW) and 85 Nm. There is no second horsepower figure, no second gearbox, no second drive layout, and no restyling recorded as a separate generation. The buying choice is therefore whether 20 hp matches the job, not which Mini EV variant to pick over another.

That is the whole comparison the numbers allow. Everything below is arithmetic on those figures, or an explicit not measured so a missing field is not read as “this parameter does not exist.”

Specs of the only version: 20 hp

VersionhpkWNmDisplacementFuelCylindersLayoutBoostGearboxSpeedsDrive
20 hp201485not measuredElectronot measurednot measurednot measuredAutomatic1FWD

20 hp is the name in the database and must stay 20 hp. It is also the power rating: 20 hp and 14 kW. The ratio of those two catalogue figures is 20 / 14 ≈ 1.43 hp per kW (equivalently 14 / 20 = 0.70 kW per hp). Torque is 85 Nm. Torque per horsepower is 85 / 20 = 4.25 Nm per hp. Torque per kilowatt is 85 / 14 ≈ 6.07 Nm per kW. Displacement is not measured, so power per litre cannot be calculated: there is no litre figure to divide 20 hp or 14 kW by.

Fuel is Electro. Cylinders, cylinder layout, valves per cylinder, boost, engine placement, and fuel-system type are not measured. Those cells are not petrol-engine fields left blank by accident; they are absent in the data for 20 hp, and inventing a layout would be a number (or a configuration) that is not in the source.

Gearbox is Automatic with 1 speed. Drive is FWD. There is no other transmission count and no other axle layout in this model line, so “which gearbox” and “which drive” are not open questions.

Generations: what 1 generation changed (and what it did not)

1 generation (database key 7608) starts 2022-05-01 and has stop empty, so it is the current generation in this catalogue. Body is Cabrio. Version count inside the generation is 1. There is no earlier generation to subtract from, and no later generation to add. Restyling is not listed as its own generation; nothing in the data splits 1 generation into a pre-facelift and a facelift with different numbers.

Compared with a multi-generation catalogue page, the arithmetic of “what the new generation bought you” is therefore:

If a buyer is waiting for a second generation with more power, a different body, or a second drivetrain, this dataset does not record that generation. The only generation to buy is 1 generation, and the only version inside it is 20 hp.

Engine and drivetrain: what the extra money cannot buy here

On models with several versions, “what the extra money buys” is the difference in hp, Nm, speeds, or drive. Here the extra money cannot buy a second Mini EV engine because a second engine is not in the table.

What 20 hp does specify:

What it does not specify, and therefore cannot be used as a buying differentiator:

A 1-speed Automatic with FWD is a single point, not a ladder. You cannot step from 1 speed to more speeds inside this model. You cannot step from FWD to another drive. You cannot step from 20 hp to a higher Mini EV output in the same catalogue family. If those steps matter to the purchase, they are not available as Mini EV versions in this data.

Performance and economy: figures that are not measured

0–100, top speed, city consumption, highway consumption, mixed consumption, tank volume, and CO2 are all not measured for 20 hp. Eco class is not measured.

That is the performance section in full: there is no 0–100 time to rank, no top speed to cap the use case in numbers, and no consumption trio to turn into an mpg-style comparison. Saying those values are not measured is required; omitting them would look as if the Mini EV had no such parameters at all.

Because 0–100 is not measured, you cannot compute a seconds-per-horsepower index. Because mixed consumption is not measured, you cannot compute hp per unit of consumption. Because tank volume is not measured, you cannot compute range from a tank figure (and Electro already has no petrol tank figure in this row). None of those missing values may be filled from outside the data.

The only performance-adjacent arithmetic that stays inside the source is the power and torque already stated: 20 hp, 14 kW, 85 Nm, 4.25 Nm/hp, 6.07 Nm/kW. Those describe the motor’s catalogue peaks. They do not describe how long 20 hp takes to reach 100, how fast it goes, or how much energy it uses.

Dimensions, weight, mpg-style fields, and chassis numbers

Kerb weight is not measured. Gross weight is not measured. Ground clearance is not measured. Wheel sizes are not measured. Tank is not measured.

Weight per horsepower cannot be calculated: there is no kerb mass to divide by 20. Weight per newton-metre cannot be calculated: there is no mass to divide by 85. Ground clearance cannot be compared across versions because there is only one version and the clearance cell is empty. Wheel size cannot be used to choose a variant.

Chassis items that are measured, and therefore are the only hardware comparison points besides the motor:

With one version, “which suspension” and “which brakes” are not a choice. 20 hp is Independent, spring in front, Semi-independent, torsion in the rear, Disc at the front, Drum at the rear. There is no Mini EV row with a different brake pair or a different rear layout to subtract from this one.

Reliability and problems are not in the numerical source. This article does not invent failure rates, battery wear, or common faults. Those headings matter to search, but the honest catalogue answer is that this dataset does not measure them.

Which version to choose

Choose 20 hp if the measured set is enough: Cabrio, Electro, 20 hp / 14 kW, 85 Nm, Automatic 1 speed, FWD, in production from 2022-05-01 as 1 generation.

Do not expect a second Mini EV version in this catalogue. There is no second name to keep distinct by horsepower, because a duplicate name does not appear. There is no 20 hp at one output and another 20 hp at a different output. Power is 20 hp once.

Decision checklist against the numbers:

1. Body: only Cabrio. If the requirement is not Cabrio, this model line as given does not offer another body. 2. Energy: only Electro. There is no non-Electro Mini EV version here. 3. Output: only 20 hp and 14 kW. The power gap to any other Mini EV version is 0 hp because no other version exists. 4. Torque: only 85 Nm. Gap 0 Nm. 5. Transmission: only Automatic with 1 speed. No manual, no multi-speed count in the data. 6. Drive: only FWD. 7. Performance ranking: 0–100 not measured, top speed not measured — you cannot pick the “faster” Mini EV by these fields. 8. Economy ranking: city / highway / mixed not measured, tank not measured, CO2 not measured — you cannot pick the “cheaper to run” Mini EV by these fields. 9. Weight and size ranking: kerb not measured, gross not measured, clearance not measured, wheels not measured — you cannot pick the “lighter” or “higher” Mini EV by these fields. 10. Chassis: Independent, spring / Semi-independent, torsion, Disc / Drum — one set, not a menu.

“What the extra money buys” inside Linxys Mini EV is not a higher-hp row. Extra spend, if any, is outside this specification table (equipment, colour, options), and those prices are not in the data, so they are not stated here.

If the purchase is a comparison against other models, that is a different catalogue page. Inside Mini EV, the arithmetic collapses to a single point: 1 generation, 1 Cabrio, 1 version named 20 hp, 20 hp / 14 kW, 85 Nm, Electro, Automatic 1, FWD, on sale from 2022-05-01, with every other headline number not measured.

Problems, reliability, mpg, dimensions: what this page can and cannot rank

Search for Mini EV specs, engine, mpg, problems, reliability, and dimensions still maps onto this version, but only 20 hp is present.

A paragraph taken out of this article remains true on its own: Linxys Mini EV 20 hp is 20 hp / 14 kW / 85 Nm, Electro, Automatic 1, FWD, Cabrio, 1 generation from 2022-05-01, and the performance, weight, and economy cells are not measured. There is no second version to prefer, and no generation step to pay for, in the numbers given.